Skip to content

Lync 2013 RTM migration from Lync 2010 Step by Step – Part 1

November 7, 2012

I am going introduce Lync 2013 RTM to my existing Lync 2010 lab infrastructure.
As first step i installed the latest updates to all Lync 2010 servers.
Then I did fresh install of Windows 2012 Standard server and joined it to domain.
After reboot I run this in powershell to install prerequisites
Add-WindowsFeature Windows-Identity-Foundation, RSAT-ADDS, Web-Server, Web-Static-Content, Web-Default-Doc, Web-Http-Errors, Web-Asp-Net, Web-Net-Ext, Web-ISAPI-Ext, Web-ISAPI-Filter, Web-Http-Logging, Web-Log-Libraries, Web-Request-Monitor, Web-Http-Tracing, Web-Basic-Auth, Web-Windows-Auth, Web-Client-Auth, Web-Filtering, Web-Stat-Compression, Web-Dyn-Compression, NET-WCF-HTTP-Activation45, Web-Asp-Net45, Web-Mgmt-Tools, Web-Scripting-Tools, Web-Mgmt-Compat, Desktop-Experience, BITS
Then i reboot server again and after reboot i start installation from inserted installation iso.

On next dialog is possible modify installation path, in my case i just proceed with default

Then I selected Prepare Active Directory in Lync 2013 Deployment Wizard

On next screen I run Prepare Schema, Prepare Current Forest & Prepare Current Domain

After finishing all three steps I install Administrative Tools to get Topology Builder

When starting Topology Builder i choose Download Topology from existing deployment - Save As any name.

I could see two folders under my central site – one for Lync Server 2010 with all my old Lync servers and new folder with Lync Server 2013. I selected New Front End Pool on Standard Edition Front End Servers

Click Next and type FQDN of new Lync 2013 server. On select features i select this

And on next screen i select Collocate Mediation Serverand deselect Enable an Edge pool to be used…..on Next page. On define SQL Server store clicked next.

Then I created dir lyncshare on C:\ drive and share this dir as LyncShare and set full permission for Everyone on share level.

On Define the file store page i just type name of share i just created.

On Specify the Web Services URL in External Base URL externally accessible URL must be entered. This URL must be published via e.g. TMG. It cannot be something.domain.local.

On Select an Office Web Apps Server i clicked New and type the name of Office Web Apps Server.

Good guide how to install it can be found here.

On Next screen i create new sql Server store for Archiving by typing FQDN of server with SQL 2012 installed and i select the same sql store for Monitoring

At the end I right-click newly defined server and choose Topology – Publish. In Publish Topology dialog i pressed two times next.

When wizard completes I got warning – in logs i found info that SQL agent should be started on SQL server so I did it and after publishing again wizard finished successfully.

Two remarks:

1. Publishing topology creates three new databases on SQL server for monitoring and archiving

2. From this point it is not possible open topology from Lync 2010

To actually start Lync 2013 installation I selected Install or Update Lync Server System from Deployment Wizard

And then select Install Local Configuration Store – creates local replica of CMS – followed by Setup or Remove Lync Server Components – installs Lync services

In Install Local Replica of CMS i select Retrieve directly…. and click Next

When installation of services was done i just check that services are there (now stopped) and move to next section certificates.

In Certificate Wizard it is neccessy first Request certificate and then Assign certificate.

In my case I choose internal CA and clicked next several times

After i proceed with certificates I finally start Lync services and check that all Lync services started

Useful cmdlet for starting services is Start-CsWindowsService (for stopping use Stop-CsWindowsService)

After I verified that all Lync services are running I opened Topology Builder again and right-click site and choose Edit properties and then Federation route and in Enable SIP federation I selected my Lync 2010 Edge server and click OK.

Then still in Topology Builder I right-click my newly installed Lync 2013 server and in Edit properties under general – Associate Edge pool (for media components) i again selected my Edge server, click OK and Publish Topology

So now I was ready to move first test user to my new Lync 2013 Front End server. It is possible do it via Lync 2013 Control Panel or LMS.

In Control Panel find user to move and under Action select Move Selected Users to pool…

In LMS you can use Move-CsUser cmdlet

After user move I check basic IM and presence functionality both internal and external and it works well.

I encountered just one issue on computer with unpatched Lync 2010 i was not able to login

The reason is that Lync 2013 block such older Lync 2010 versions – see LCP – Clients section

After downloading the latest Lync 2010 patches I could login without any problem

It is all for now – in next part I will check online conferencing and I will try to introduce Lync 2013 Edge server.

From → Lync 2013

4 Comments
  1. Jonby permalink

    First, great article. So to be sure, the best to way to upgrade is to have both Lync 2010 and 2013 up side by side, and then migrate users from 2010 to 2013? Basically, I want to install Lync 2013 on Windows Server 2012 OS per your instructions here. Can I have Lync 2013 installed and ready to go, wait a few days without affecting any users on Lync 2010? The features we use in Lync 2010 is very basic; IM, share desktop, simple file transfer, and internal use only. Hopefully this makes sense, thanks for your time.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Lync Insider » Moving to Lync Server 2013: Starting the Install (Part 2)
  2. The Lync Insider: Moving to Lync Server 2013: Starting the Install (Part 2) « Lync News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

